I’ve been in Cochrane for two months now.  My time here continues to fly by as I have been very busy making sausage, making podcasts, making documentaries, and doing a lot of writing.  I have been writing about 1000 words/day, but this month I plan to bring that average up to 1667: I have officially entered the National Novel Writing Month Contest.

I discovered this contest on an editor friend’s Instagram feed.  The idea for this novel has been percolating for quite some time, and this is an excellent opportunity for me to focus.  That means that I probably won’t be as consistent with the podcasts, and I will put the documentary about my brother Alex and I on the shelf for a while, but I think it will be good for me to focus on one thing for a change.

I am not really sure how this contest works.  I am not sure if there is a prize, or a winner: but none of that really matters.  What does matter is that I actually get my ass in a chair for an entire month, and write, write, write.  I look forward to sharing it with you all.

Today is day two, and I am at 7128 words: only 42,872 to go!  I will keep you abreast of my progress throughout the month.  For now, here is a sample.

